
GRAIN DEALERS - FINANCIAL STATEMENT INFORMATION

A licensed grain dealer must file an annual financial statement with the department during each license

year, if the grain dealer’s license application for that year reports any of the following:

» More than 200,000 bushels of Wisconsin producer grain paid for during the grain dealer’s last 

completed fiscal year.

» Any deferred payment contract obligations for grain procured in Wisconsin, at any time since the 

beginning of the grain dealer’s last completed fiscal year.

» The grain dealer attests in writing, under oath, that the financial statement is complete and accurate. 

An affidavit is enclosed for this purpose.

» The financial statement is reviewed by an independent certified public accountant licensed or 

certified under chapter 442 of the Wisconsin Statutes.

An audited financial statement is required if you reported more than 2.5 million bushels of Wisconsin 

producer grain paid for on your most recent license application. Otherwise, at least a review level 

financial statement is required.

The annual financial statement must be for the licensee. You may not file, in lieu of the licensee’s

financial statement, the financial statement of the licensee’s parent organization, subsidiary,

predecessor, or successor.

If you are not required to file an annual financial statement for either license, you may voluntarily file an

annual financial statement. Your annual Agricultural Producer Security Fund assessment may be lower

based on the current ratio and debt to equity ratio from the financial statement, than it would be without a

financial statement.

The financial statement must be filed with the department by the 15th day of the 4th month following the

close of your fiscal year. However, the department may extend the filing deadline for up to 30 days if you,

or the independent certified public accountant reviewing or auditing the financial statement, files a written

extension request at least 10 days before the filing deadline.

If a financial statement is required but not filed on or before the filing deadline, you must pay a $100

license surcharge. Also, failure to file a required financial statement may result in disqualification from

the producer security fund.

Reviewed financial statement means a financial statement, other than an audited financial statement,

if all of the following apply.

● The historical cost basis method of accounting, if the financial statement is a sole 

proprietor’s personal financial statement and the financial statement is prepared on a 

historical cost basis.

● Generally accepted accounting principles.

Audited financial statement means a financial statement on which an independent certified public

accountant licensed or certified under chapter 442, Wis. Stats., has done all of the following:

» Conducted an audit according to generally accepted auditing standards.

» Stated that the financial statement presents fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of the 

grain warehouse keeper or grain dealer as of a specific date or for a specific period, according to one 

of the following:

The financial statement must conform to the requirements of section 126.13 of the Wisconsin Statutes,

as follows:

● An annual financial statement must consist of a balance sheet, income statement, equity 

statement, statement of cash flows, notes to those statements, and any other information required by 

the department. [126.13(6)(a)].
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Chapter ATCP 99 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code requires other information, as follows:

» A detailed description of all notes, mortgages and other long-term liabilities not due or payable within 

one year, including the nature of the liability, the due date and payment terms.  The description must be 

included in the notes to the financial statements or in an attachment to the financial statements.
1
 [ATCP 

99.12(2)].

Notes payable without a specific due date must be classified as a current liability. [ATCP 99.12(3)].

● If the licensee is a sole proprietor, he or she must file his or her business and personal financial 

statements. [126.13(6)(a)].
● Calculations of the current ratio and the debt to equity ratio must be included in the financial 

statement, or in an attachment to the financial statement. [126.13(6)(c)]. NOTE: Certain assets are 

required to be excluded from the calculations under 126.13 (7).
● A grain dealer’s financial statement must disclose, separately and clearly, the grain dealer’s unpaid 

obligations to grain producers and producer agents. [126.13(6)(a)].

An attachment to a financial statement must be prepared by, and on the letterhead of the certified public 

accountant that reviewed or audited the financial statement. The certified public accountant that 

reviewed or audited the financial statement must certify, in the attachment, whether the attachment is 

reviewed or audited. [ATCP 99.12(7)].

» All of the following must be identified and explained in the notes to the financial statements or in an 

attachment; [ATCP 99.12(4)(a)] (These assets are required to be excluded from the calculations under 

126.13 (7).):

● Non-trade notes or accounts receivable from an officer, director, employee, partner, or stockholder, 

or from a member of the family of any of those individuals.
● Accounts receivable from a parent organization, a subsidiary, or an affiliate other than an 

employee.
● Notes and accounts that have been receivable for more than one year, unless there is an offsetting 

reserve for uncollectible notes and accounts receivable.

» The method used to account for doubtful or uncollectible receivables.  If the licensee does not maintain 

an allowance for doubtful or uncollectible receivables, the financial statement must contain an aging 

summary of all notes and accounts receivable. Please age them to less than 1 month old, more than 1 

month but less than 6 months old, more than 6 months but less than 1 year old, and more than 1 year 

old. [ATCP 99.12(4)(b)].


