
2/19/2018

1

State Accreditation and 
Certification

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer 
Protection (DATCP)

WI Division of Animal Health

• Certification/ Accreditation of private 
veterinarians

• Disease monitoring, surveillance and response

• Animal disease traceability

• Licensing

• Inspections and Investigations

• Premises registration

• Emergency preparedness

WI Veterinary Certification

• Covers areas that federal accreditation does not:

• Johne’s vaccination and herd health plans

• Brucellosis vaccination

• Caudal fold TB testing for cattle and bison

• TB and CWD testing for cervids

• Aquaculture health certificates

• Intrastate movement
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Identification: Official or Not?

• NUES

• AIN

• Markings

• Tattoos

National Uniform Eartagging 
System (NUES)

Animal Identification Numbers
840 tags, RFID and Visual
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Animal Identification Numbers
Manufacturer Coded Tags (RFID)

Animal Identification Numbers
American ID (Visual)

Radio-Frequency Identification
(RFID)



2/19/2018

4

Cattle Registration Numbers & 
Tattoos

Vaccination Tattoo

• Right Ear

Registration Tattoo

• Left Ear

No longer accepted as official ID!

Other Tattoos

Freeze Brand
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Sheep:  Scrapie Tags

Premises Tags
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Intrastate Movement
• Cervid Requirements

• CWD monitoring program

• TB testing

• Certificate of Veterinary Inspection

• Goat and Sheep Identification

• Aquaculture Requirements

• Equine Requirements

• EIA tests

• Swine requirements

• PRRS/ SECD testing, herd plans

WI Animal Response Corps

• A group of volunteers 
skilled in working 
with animals during 
emergencies

• Veterinarians, 
veterinary 
technicians, humane 
officers, producers, 
others

SMALL ANIMAL MOVEMENT
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Certificates of Veterinary 
Inspection (CVIs)

• Important tool for disease protection

• Establish paper trail for monitoring shipments and more rapid 
tracing if necessary

Common CVI Mistakes
• Illegibility

• May result in animal becoming “lost luggage”
• No signature

• Signature stamps are
unacceptable

• No date
• Need to validate time of exam

• No consignee info
• Need name and address to

be sure health requirements
are met and prevent “lost luggage”

• “Traveling with owner”

• Insufficient animal identification

• Need individual ID

• Name, age, breed, color and markings, sex, spayed/neutered

• Animals not amenable to tagging, banding, tattooing, etc. (reptiles) require 
complete description

• No rabies immunization data

• “Too young for rabies vaccination”
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Common CVI Mistakes

• Outdated

• Valid for 30 days from date of inspection

• Commercial airlines require certificates be issued by veterinarian 
who examined animal within 10 days of transport

Be Cautious!

• Do not assume that if a pet is current on rabies vaccination for 
Wisconsin that it will meet other states’ requirements.

• Do not accept owner’s word alone.

• Demand a valid rabies certificate issued by veterinarian who 
vaccinated animal and enter that name, date and place of 
vaccination on CVI.

RABIES CONTROL

Dr. Yvonne Bellay, Humane Programs Veterinarian
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Statutory Authority

• Wisconsin Statute Chapter 95—Animal Health

• S.95.21  Rabies Control Program

Definitions
• Quarantine

• Means the restriction of the activities of well persons or animals who have been 
exposed to a case of communicable disease during its period of communicability 
to prevent disease    transmission during the incubation period if infection should 
occur

• Isolation facility
• Means a humane society shelter, veterinary hospital, municipal pound or other 

place specified by an officer which is equipped with a pen or cage which isolates 
the animal from contact with other animals

• Officer
• Means a peace officer, local health officer, as defined in s.250.01(5), humane 

officer, warden, an employee designated by the department or other person 
designated by the governing body of the county, city, village or town

• Owner
• Includes a person who owns, harbors, keeps or controls an animal

• Veterinarian
• Has the meaning designated under s.89.02(7)

• Veterinary Technician
• Has the meaning designated under s.89.02(12)
• Person duly certified by the examining board to work under the direct supervision 

of a licensed veterinarian

Rabies Vaccination

• Required for dogs
• Municipalities may 

require for cats

• Administered by 
veterinarian or 
veterinary technician

• No later than 5 months 
of age
• Coincides with licensing 

requirement

• Minimum age 
determined by vaccine 
licensing
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Rabies Vaccination

• Revaccinate within 1 
year of initial 
vaccination
• Regardless of age of 

initial vaccination or 
vaccine used

• Subsequent 
vaccinations per 
manufacturer 
recommendations
• 1 or 3 years

• No 2-year products

Rabies Re-vaccination

• If a previously vaccinated animal is overdue for a booster it 
should be revaccinated with a single dose of vaccine

• Immediately following the booster, the animal is considered 
currently vaccinated

• Rapid, strong anamnestic response

• Current for duration of vaccine approval

• No need to “start over”

Currently, a non-veterinarian may buy 
rabies vaccine and administer the 

vaccine.  However, the vaccination is not 
valid or recognized for purposes of 

rabies control or licensing.
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Quarantine for Dog or Cat

• Officer shall order, not 
veterinarian or
humane society

• Reason to believe 
animal:
• Bit a person

• Infected with rabies or

• In contact with a rabid 
animal

• Owner shall deliver 
within 24 hours of 
original order

Sacrificing an Animal

Dog or Cat

• Cannot be captured
• Last resort or

• Owner agrees

• Owner violates 
quarantine

Other Animals

• Reason to believe that 
animal
• Bit a person or 

• Is infected with rabies

• Note: there is no 
provision for quarantine

• Livestock cases dealt 
with on a case-by-case 
basis

Bite Reporting

• State law does not mandate

• Reporting may be required by local ordinance

• Failure to report may make case management difficult
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Quarantine:  Human Exposure

• Under strict isolation
• Owner premises if 

currently immunized
• Valid certificate of rabies 

vaccination
• Not because the owner 

says so

• Isolation facility if not 
currently immunized

• At least 10 days
• May be extended if 

clinical signs warrant 

• Veterinary supervision
• 3 exams by veterinarian
• Day 1, day 10, 

intervening day
• Problems when not 

presented as ordered

• No vaccinations during 
quarantine

• Veterinarian certifies 
animal shows no signs 
of rabies

• Quarantine released by 
officer who issued 

10-Day Quarantine

• No method to diagnose ante-mortem

• Applies only to dogs, cats, and ferrets

• Viral shedding period for dogs, cats, and ferrets is known 

• Concern about whether biting animal was shedding rabies virus in 
saliva at time of bite

• Observation of normal animal to determine changes in health or 
behavior

• Allows sufficient time to determine health of animal

• Once virus enters brain, animal will show signs and die within few 
days

• If animal is healthy after 10 days, it was not shedding virus at time of 
bite

• Provides safe “window” in which to begin PEP if necessary

• Has withstood test of time

10-Day Quarantine

• Puppies, kittens, kits

• May bite before old 
enough to vaccinate 

• Quarantine provisions 
apply

• Quarantine provisions 
due to public health 
concerns--not punitive

• Positive cases have 
resulted in multiple 
human exposures



2/19/2018

14

10-Day Quarantine

• Must take 
precautions when 
quarantining young

• Not fully vaccinated

• Socialization issues

Quarantine:  Animal Exposure

• May be kept on owner 
premises regardless of 
vaccination status if 
quarantine provisions 
are met

• Must be leashed or 
confined

• Not currently immunized
• Recommend immediate 

euthanasia, but if owner 
refuses:
• 180 days

• Vaccinate between 155-
165 days of quarantine 

• (current recommendations 
to vaccinate immediately)

• Currently immunized
• 60 days 

• Revaccinate immediately 
after exposure

180-Day Quarantine

• Incubation period for animals may be as long as 6 months in 
animals

• Exposed animal is not protected by immunization

• Exposed, unprotected animal presents a significant public 
health risk

• Euthanasia should be first recommendation

• No acceptable protocol for PEP in animals

• Quarantine requirements strict due to risk of exposure to 
people and other animals
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60-Day Quarantine

• Owner can provide proof animal is currently immunized

• Certificate of rabies vaccination

• Rabies vaccine provides excellent protection; however, no 
vaccine is 100% effective

• Rabies is always fatal once signs are evident

• Animal is boosted immediately after exposure to provide 
“immune insurance”

• Quarantine requirements less strict due to vaccination status 

Algorithm for Rabies Exposure

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/communicable/Rab
ies/RabiesAlgorithm/AlgorithmCategories.htm

Animals Exhibiting Symptoms

• Veterinarian determines

• Veterinarian notifies owner and officer that issued quarantine

• Kill animal humanely

• Avoid damage to head

• Submit to State Laboratory of Hygiene 
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Tissue Sampling

• Tissue sampling for 
diagnosis

• Send the full brain

• Protect head when 
killing animal

• Don’t smash bats

• Don’t shoot other 
animals in head

Inadequate sample

Equivocal result

Unnecessarily?

Documentation Problems

• Multiple specimens in the same shipper with no indication on 
requisition

• Multiple unassociated specimens in the same shipper 

• Submitter not indicated

• Physician not indicated

Mode of Shipment

• Hand delivery

• Ideal

• Distance consideration

• Priority mail

• UPS

• Guaranteed overnight delivery

• Bus
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INFORMATION RESOURCES

Important Contact Information

Interstate

DATCP Division of Animal Health

AnimalMovement.datcp.wi.gov

(608) 224-4872

International

USDA-APHIS-VS

http://www.aphis.usda.gov/regulati
ons/vs/iregs/animals/

(608) 662-0630

DATCP Website
datcp.wi.gov

Select Animal Health under the 
Programs/Services drop-down menu

USDA APHIS Website
www.aphis.usda.gov

CERTIFICATION
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Applying for Certification

• Complete state-specific orientation, which you’ve now done for 
Wisconsin
• If you’re going to practice in another state, you need to contact that 

state for further information.
• Graduate
• Get your license in the state where you’ll be practicing
• Submit a VS Form 1-36A to the VS office in the state where you’ll be 

practicing. 
• Available at the office or at www.aphis.usda.gov/nvap/

• You’ll also need to complete online training at 
ww.aphis.usda.gov/nvap/

• You will be notified by mail when you have been accredited and 
authorized to do accreditation work. Until then, you cannot perform 
any accreditation duties.

• If you have questions:  Valencia Watts, USDA-APHIS-VS, (517) 337-4701 or 
valencia.t.watts@aphis.usda.gov

http://www.aphis.usda.gov/animal_health/vet_accreditation/index.shtml

Renewing Accreditation

• You will need to complete online training within three years to 
renew your accreditation.

• http://www.aphis.usda.gov/animal_health/vet_accreditation/ren
ew.shtml

• Or Google NVAP

• Do it sooner rather than later – it helps pull all this together

• If you start practicing in one state and move to another, you 
will need to get authorization in that state.

After You Leave Today

• You’ll need to complete the TB certification seminar to do TB 

testing on cattle, bison and/or cervids.

• And if you intend to do CWD tests, you’ll need to work with 

your district veterinarian to get certified.

And remember, when in doubt, CALL!

http://www.aphis.usda.gov/nvap/
http://www.aphis.usda.gov/nvap/
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Questions?


