

# Weighing and Measuring Devices: Licensing Information

DATCP's Bureau of Weights and Measures is responsible for regulating many different types of weighing and measuring devices. However, the Bureau of Weights and Measures only requires annual licenses for vehicle tank meters, liquefied petroleum gas meters, and vehicle scales.

## BUREAU OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES

PO Box 8911 Madison, WI 53708 (608) 224-4942 datcp.wi.gov

#### **RESOURCES**

Wis. Stat. Ch. 98: https://docs.legis.wisconsi n.gov/statutes/statutes/98 /Title

### Wis. Admin. Code ATCP 92:

https://docs.legis.wisconsi n.gov/code/admin\_code/a tcp/090/92/Title

### <u>Licensed Weights and</u> <u>Measures Service</u> <u>Company List:</u>

https://mydatcp.wi.gov/d ocuments/dtcp/WMSvcCo Listing(InstallSvcTestCalib). pdf

# Weights and Measures Website:

https://datcp.wi.gov/Page s/Programs\_Services/Weig htsAndMeasures.aspx

### **Vehicle Tank Meters**

- Vehicle tank meters (VTMs) are meters mounted on a vehicle used commercially to measure gasoline, kerosene, fuel oil, diesel fuel or alternate fuels.
- All VTMs are required to have an annual license issued by DATCP. A separate license is required for each VTM. Licenses cannot be transferred between operators or meters.
- A license fee of \$60 is due with each meter application. If the applicant operated the meter without a license within one year prior to submitting the application, a \$200 surcharge must be paid.
- All VTM licenses expire on October 31<sup>st</sup> annually. Licenses cannot be prorated.
- VTMs must be tested by a <u>Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures Service</u>
   <u>Company</u> at least annually and within 12 months of the previous test. Test reports
   must be sent to DATCP within 30 days of each test. Failure to comply with this
   requirements will result in a \$200 surcharge.
- Additional information on licensing VTMs, including how to apply for or renew a VTM license is available on the VTM page of DATCP's website.
- To see if a VTM is licensed, check DATCP's <u>VTM Directory</u>.

### **Liquefied Petroleum Gas Meters**

- Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) meters are commercial meters used to measure LPG sold or delivered to a consumer.
- LPG meters are required to have an annual license issued by DATCP. A separate license is required for each LPG meter. Licenses are not transferable between persons or meters.
- A license fee of \$60 is due with each meter application. If the applicant operated the meter without a license within one year prior to submitting the application, a \$200 surcharge must be paid.
- All LPG meter licenses expire November 30<sup>th</sup> annually. Licenses cannot be prorated.
- LPG meters must be tested by a <u>Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures</u>
  <u>Service Company</u> at least annually and within 12 months of the previous test.
  Test reports must be sent to DATCP within 30 days of each test. Failure to comply with this requirements will result in a \$200 surcharge.
- Additional information on licensing LPG meters, including how to apply for or renew an LPG meter license is available on the <u>LPG meter page of DATCP's</u> website.
- To see if an LPG meter is licensed, check DATCP's <u>LPG Meter Directory</u>.

Rev. 9/20/2023 Page 1 of 2

### **Vehicle Scales**

- Vehicle scales are commercial scales designed to weigh loaded or unloaded highway, farm or industrial vehicles.
- Vehicle scale installations require a permit from DATCP and must be completed by a <u>Wisconsin licensed</u>
  Weights and Measures Service Company. The fee for a vehicle scale installation permit is \$65.
- Vehicle scales are required to have an annual license issued by DATCP. A separate license is required for each vehicle scale. A license is not transferable between persons or scales.
- A license fee of \$115 is due with each vehicle scale application. If the applicant operated the vehicle scale without a license within one year prior to submitting the application, a \$200 surcharge must be paid.
- All vehicle scale licenses expire March 31<sup>st</sup> annually. Licenses cannot be prorated.
- Vehicle scales must be tested by a Wisconsin licensed Weights and Measures Service Company at least annually and within 12 months of the previous test. Test reports must be sent to DATCP within 30 days of each test. Failure to comply with this requirements will result in a \$200 surcharge.
- Additional information on licensing vehicle scales, including how to how to apply for or renew a vehicle scale permit or license is available on the <u>vehicle scale page of DATCP's website</u>.
- To see if a vehicle scale is licensed, check DATCP's Vehicle Scale Directory.

### Important Items to Note for All License Types:

- The required annual test reports may be submitted to the department by the service company, but this does not satisfy the license requirement. The device owner must submit the license application and fee each year.
- A surcharge payment does not relieve the applicant of any other civil or criminal liability for violating the licensing and/or testing requirements, but is not evidence of a violation.
- While DATCP's Bureau of Weights and Measures only requires licenses for vehicle scales, vehicle tank meters, and liquefied petroleum gas meters, other state or local agencies may require licenses be obtained for these and other weighing and measuring devices.

Rev. 9/20/2023 Page 2 of 2