
Wisconsin Humane Offi  cer Training

Wisconsin Humane Offi  cer Training – Madison, WI – September 16-20, 2024  – $575

Name: Title:

Post License #: Email address:

Agency: Agency phone:

Agency address:

Last 4 digits of your social security number: Date of birth:

Home address:

Home phone: Mobile Phone:

Dates:  September 16-20, 2024
Time:  7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Location: DoubleTree (by Hilton 
 Madison East)
 4402 E. Washington Ave
 Madison, WI 53704 -3724

Who should attend?
• Humane offi  cers who have been 

appointed but not yet certifi ed
• Law offi  cers who investigate animal 

abuse and neglect
•  Individuals interested in becoming a 

humane offi  cer

When do I need to register by?
Class size is limited. Register early using the attached 
form before Tuesday September 10, 2024.

What is the cost?
Course: $575 payable to the University of 
Missouri with your registration form. The 
course fee includes all materials and class 
time. It does not include meals, lodging, 
and testing or certifi cation fees. 

Hilton reservations line (800-445-8667) to make 
reservations by mentioning the Law Enforcement 
Training or group code LET *Reservations need to be 
made before August 16, 2024

What topics are covered?
We teach a systematic approach to 
investigating animal cruelty complaints, 
including:
• The animal investigator’s role
• Rules of evidence
• Rules of search and seizure
• Civil liability
• Wisconsin and constitutional animal 

law
• Facility standards
• Evaluation of cruelty
• Nutrition
• Body conditioning and scoring
• Pet shop investigations
• Photographing and sketching
• Crime scene protection and evidence
• collection
• Interviewing and interrogation
• Report writing
• Courtroom testimony
• Crisis intervention and offi  cer safety

Questions
For program information: 
Call 608-224-4888

For registration information: 
Call 1-800-825-6505

Certifi cation

After completing the coursework 
and passing the examination on 
the last day, you will be eligible to 
be certifi ed as a humane offi  cer. 
You will then need to apply for 
certifi cation by the Wisconsin 
Department of Agriculture, 
Trade and Consumer Protection 
(DATCP). If you are a law offi  cer, 
you do not need to be certifi ed, 
but you can apply the course 
toward your recertifi cation 
training requirement.

Testing: $25 payable to DATCP 
after you arrive.

Certifi cation: $35 payable to 
DATCP if you apply to be certifi ed.

Make checks payable to:  University of Missouri and mail to: Law Enforcement Training Institute
                                                                                                                                     2800 Maguire Blvd. STE E1
   Columbia, MO 65211

Website: https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/
Programs_Services/HumaneOffi  cers.
aspx

If you have any special needs 
as addressed by the ADA, 
contact us immediately.


