Trade and Consumer Protection Wisconsin Department of Agriculture,

DATCP Designates Agricultural Enterprise Areas in Sauk and Green Lake Counties, Expands Designation in Monroe County

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 4, 2024

Contact: Dan Richter, Public Information Officer, (608) 419-5352

dan.richter@wisconsin.gov

MADISON, Wis. – The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) designated more than 21,000 acres in Green Lake and Sauk counties as new agricultural enterprise areas (AEAs) effective January 1, 2024. DATCP also designated a modification to expand an existing AEA in Monroe County by more than 20,000 acres effective January 1, 2024. With these additions, there are now 49 AEAs statewide totaling 1,619,566 acres, covering portions of 30 counties, 135 towns, and the Bad River Reservation.

AEA designations are important to Wisconsin's agricultural future and support local farmland protection goals, the agricultural economy, environmental efforts, and rural prosperity. Landowners within designated AEAs are eligible to enter into voluntary farmland preservation agreements, committing all or a portion of their farm to agricultural use and maintaining state soil and water conservation standards. In return, they may be eligible to claim the annual farmland preservation tax credit.

The new AEAs include:

 <u>Dellona AEA</u>, located in Sauk County, includes more than 8,000 acres in the town of Dellona. Local governments and partners joined 11 landowners to petition for designation of this AEA. Petitioners in this AEA hope to promote the implementation of the soil health principles and create a community for farmers to support financial and environmental stability.

Local contact: Brian Sadler, conservation technician, (608) 355-4841

• Marquette AEA, located in Green Lake County, includes more than 13,000 acres in the towns of Marquette, Green Lake, and Kingston. Local government and partners joined seven landowners to petition for designation in this AEA. Petitioners hope to promote small scale agriculture and support regenerative agricultural practices to preserve their agricultural resources.

Local contact: Todd Morris, county conservationist, (920) 294-4052.

The modified AEA includes:

Scenic Ridge and Valley AEA, located in Monroe County, includes more than 20,000 new acres, for a total of more than 83,000 acres in the towns of Leon, Jefferson, Wells, and Portland. Local government and partners joined 42 landowners to petition for modification of this AEA. Petitioners hope to continue the conservation ethic and strong history of farmers protecting soil and water resources within the region and the La Crosse River watershed.

Local contact: Bob Micheel, land conservation department director, (608) 269-8975.

DATCP is accepting petitions to designate new or modify existing AEAs through August 2, 2024. An AEA designation provides tools to support farmland protection, conservation, and the local farm economy. Petitioners who notify DATCP of their intent to apply will receive information about workshops, webinars, and other resources to help prepare the petition. For more information on the program or to access petition materials, visit http://farmlandpreservation.wi.gov.

###