Board Members

The Governor appoints citizens who serve on the DATCP board for six years. The Wisconsin Legislature confirms the Governor's appointments. The board members elect a chairman who conducts the monthly meetings.

The board is a policy-making body. ATCP Board Overview - 2 page PDF

DATCP Board Meeting Agendas & Schedule

Back row, left to right- John Koepke, Mark Schleitwiler, Doug Wolf, Andy Diercks, Dennis Badtke
Front row, left to right- Miranda Leis, Dean Strauss, Mike Dummer, Nicole Hansen
Board Members

Andy DiercksMr. Diercks, along with his father, owns and operates 2800-acre potato and vegetable farm in Coloma, Wisconsin. Mr. Diercks has been farming since 1993 and received his bachelor of Science degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in Agriculture Engineering. Mr. Diercks was elected President of the Wisconsin Agricultural Stewardship Initiative in July 2001 and was elected President of the Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association in February 2002.

Chairman Mike DummerMr. Dummer along with his wife Kathy, daughters, Amy, Beth and Tracy, his parents and brothers, manage a farming operation that includes livestock, cash grain, grain elevator and custom combining and commercial composting business in Holmen. Mr. Dummer served as president of the Wisconsin National Farmers Organization for seven years and was Southwest District NFO president in 1997. Dummer is currently the Director of Marketing and Service for the Equity Livestock Credit Corporation. Mr. Dummer has served on several local and state committees including the DNR Animal Waste Advisory Committee; Agriculture, Technology and Family Farm Institute Advisory Committee; DATCP Grain Council and Marketing Division Advisory Committee; and the Consortium for Animal Agriculture Resource Development.
John KoepkeJohn, who has a degree from Cornell University, operates Koepke Farms Inc., Oconomowoc, in partnership with his dad Jim and uncles Alan and David. Koepke Farms milks 330 Holstein cows, raises replacement heifers and has 970 acres dedicated to corn, soybeans and hay. John and his wife, Kim have three sons and are active members of the Professional Dairy Producers of Wisconsin. In 2003, John was named Watertown Area Outstanding Young Farmer and also received a citation from the Wisconsin Assembly for dedication to excellence in dairy management and a commendation from the Office of the Governor for distinguished dairy management. In 2009, the Dairy Farmers of America selected Koepke Farms as an American Dairy of Distinction, one of seven farms nationwide chosen to receive the honor. Since 2004, Koepke Farms continues as an active participant in the Discovery Farms program. John also serves as a town board supervisor for the Town of Oconomowoc. He is also a Waukesha County Farm Bureau board member and past president of the Waukesha County Milk Producers Cooperative.

Miranda LeisMiranda Leis, a project manager for CROPP Cooperative/Organic Valley in LaFarge, is presently Director of the Monroe County Farm Bureau. She has been an active member of the Wisconsin Farm Bureau since 2005, currently serving on the Policy Development Committee. Previously she held the position of Young Farmer and Agriculturalist Chair on both the county and state Farm Bureaus. Miranda is also involved with the La Crosse Chapter of the Project Management Institute and received her degree in animal science with an emphasis in dairy production and nutrition.

Mark SchleitwilerMark Schleitwiler of Green Bay, is current Vice President of Operations for BelGioioso Cheese, Inc.. He serves on the Board of Directors for both the Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association and the American Producers of Italian Type Cheeses. Additionally, Mark is Treasurer for the Fox Valley Unitarian Universalists Fellowship and is affiliated with the Kraft Credit Committee and the Kraft Purchasing Committee. He has professional experience with both accounting and managerial related positions.


Dennis BadtkeDennis Badtke of Rosendale is currently Chief Appraiser for Badgerland Financial. He also raises cash crops along with his brother on their family farm near Rosendale. Dennis is on the Board of Directors for the Wisconsin Chapter of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers and serves on the Plan Commission and Board of Appeals for the Town of Springvale in Fond du Lac county. He is an appointed member of the Fond du Lac County Condemnation Commission and serves as a Council Member and Treasurer of the Rosendale United Church of Christ. Dennis holds a B.S. and M.S. degree from UW-Platteville.

Dean StraussDean Strauss of Sheboygan Falls is managing partner of Majestic Crossing Dairy. Dean, his family and partners milk 1900 cows and farm 3000 acres dedicated to alfalfa, corn, wheat, and soybeans. Dean is past President of the Professional Dairy Producers of Wisconsin and previously served on the Wisconsin Beef Council board of directors. Currently, Dean serves on the Executive Board for the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board and is the current chair of the Dairy Policy Committee for the Wisconsin Farm Bureau. Dean received his bachelors of animal science from the University of Wisconsin Platteville.

Nicole HansenNicole Hansen manages 850 acres of cranberries near Necedah, WI. After growing up on a dairy farm near Ontario, she obtained her bachelors of science degree in 1997 with a biology major and chemistry minor. Nicole currently serves on the Wisconsin State Cranberry Growers Association Board, chairs the research committee, the best management practices working group, serves on the education committee and represents the cranberry industry on the National Institute for Sustainable Agriculture Producer Board.

Douglas WolfDoug started farming in 1976 with his mother and father in Lancaster, WI. Today, he is a partner, along with his wife Kris and son Shannon in Wolf L&G Farms, LLC. The farm is a diversified hog, cattle and crop farm. Doug is a past president of the National Pork Producers Council and currently serves on the USDA Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee on Trade. Doug also has a daughter Megan and eight grandchildren.