Consumer Law at Your Fingertips

Entertainment, Art & Leisure

Dating Services

Wisconsin Statutes section 100.175 regulates dating services, especially those that take cash in advance:

  • A dating service must give each buyer a written contract that discloses all charges and includes a 3-day right to cancel. The contract must disclose the contract duration (not more than 2 years).
  • The service provider may not collect more than $100 in advance unless the service provider files security with the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP).

  • Violators may be prosecuted, and there is a private remedy for consumers. For more information, see Dating Services details.