Consumer Law at Your Fingertips

Mail & E-Mail Solicitations

3-Day Right to Cancel

The following Wisconsin laws give consumers a 3-day right to cancel certain mail and
e-mail sales contracts:

  • Wisconsin Statutes chapter 423. Consumers may cancel if (1) the transaction is initiated and consummated away from the seller’s regular place of business, and (2) the transaction is on credit or is for more than $25 cash. The Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions administers this law. For more information, see Consumer Law topic, Money and Credit.
  • Wisconsin Administrative Code chapter ATCP 127. This rule regulates mail and e-mail sales. The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection administers this rule.