Cherry Board

New! Nominations for Wisconsin Cherry Board directors are being accepted through April 1. Click on the link for nomination forms and more information.

About the board 

Established in 1984, this market order board has five members who represent 34 licensed cherry producers. Its purpose is promotion, new product development, research, and education.  In 2014, cherry growers held a referendum to move to a five-member board, with all directors elected at-large.  This referendum was approved in 2015, eliminating districts.
The board is responsible for the management of an annual assessment that ranges from $20,000 to $30,000. The assessment rate is $10 per ton for processing and custom-packed cherries, and $3 per ton for juice cherries.

Wisconsin's cherry growers produced 12.3 million pounds in 2013, ranking the state fourth in the nation for tart cherry production. Michigan was the top grower of tart cherries in the country.

Cherry production in Wisconsin is concentrated mainly in Door County, which is located on the Door Peninsula that extends into Lake Michigan. Wisconsin's cherry growers' fruit had a value of $3.8 million in 2013.

Wisconsin Cherry Board directors, each of whom serves a three-year term, are:

  • Lee Petrina, Sturgeon Bay (President)
  • Barry Peterson, Green Bay
  • James Seaquist, Sister Bay
  • Dan Krowas, Baileys Harbor
  • Glen Musil, Sturgeon Bay

More information about the board is available by writing to the Wisconsin Cherry Board at PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911;  phoning 608-224-5116 or faxing 608-224-5110.