Child Credit Protection Act: 

Security Freeze for Minors and Protected Individuals


Wisconsin's Child Credit Protection Act allows parents and legal guardians to sign up with the three major credit reporting agencies to protect their child’s credit record so that anyone seeking to open a new credit account in their child’s name cannot access the credit report; hopefully resulting in the rightful denial of their application.

A protected consumer according to Wisconsin state law is a consumer under 16 years of age at the time of the request or a consumer for whom a guardian or conservator has been appointed.

All three credit reporting agencies must be notified separately.

The fee for placing a security freeze on a credit report is $10 to each major credit bureau. There is no fee if you have a valid investigative report of alleged identity theft or complaint filed with a law enforcement agency.

Parents and legal guardians are not able to place a protected consumer security freeze over the telephone or online due to the documentation requirements.


Equifax

Any request for a security freeze on a protected consumer or minor should be submitted in writing to:

Equifax Security Freeze
P.O. Box 105788
Atlanta, Georgia 30348

When submitting your written request, please include the following information:

Information and documents of representative or guardian, including parent:

  • Complete name, including any suffix (e.g. Jr., Sr., etc.)

  • Complete address

  • Copy of a Social Security Card, or a certified or official copy of a birth certificate

  • Copy of a driver's license, an identification card issued by the Motor Vehicle Administration or any other government issued identification, or a copy of a utility bill that shows name and home address

Information and documents of protected consumer or minor:

  • Complete name, including any suffix (e.g. Jr., Sr., etc.)

  • Complete address

  • Copy of a Social Security Card

  • For minor - a certified or official copy of a birth certificate

For person under guardianship or POA, an order issued by a court of law, a lawfully executed and valid Power of Attorney, or a written, signed and notarized statement that expressly describes your authority to act on behalf of the protected consumer.


Experian

Any request for a security freeze on a protected consumer or minor should be submitted in writing to:

Experian Security Freeze
P.O. Box 9554

Allen, TX 75013

To request a security freeze for a protected consumer in your care, submit all of the information listed below:

Information and documents of representative or guardian, including parent:

  • Your full name including middle initial (and generation such as JR, SR, II, III)

  • Social Security number

  • Complete addresses for the past two years

  • Date of birth

  • $10 fee or a valid investigative or incident report of alleged identity theft or complaint filed with a law enforcement agency

  • One copy of a government issued identification card, such as a driver's license, state or military ID card, etc.

  • One copy of a utility bill, bank or insurance statement, etc.

Information and documents of protected consumer or minor:

  • Birth Certificate

  • Social Security Card

  • If you are the minor’s guardian, be sure to include a copy of the operator’s license, court document naming you as the guardian or other appropriate court appointed documents.

  • If the protected consumer has been appointed a guardian or conservator, please include a signed court document indicating conservatorship or guardianship, etc.

Once your request and all of the required information for both you and the minor has been received, a freeze will be placed on the minor's credit file. If a credit file for the minor does not currently exist, a file for the minor will be created.

There is no fee to place or remove a freeze on a protected consumer under 16 years of age if a credit file for the protected consumer currently exists. If a credit file must be created for the protected consumer under 16 years of age, the fee is $10. In addition, the fee is $10 for a protected consumer 16 years of age or older or for a protected consumer 16 years of age or older for whom a court or other authority has appointed a guardian or conservator.


TransUnion

Any request for a security freeze on a protected consumer or minor should be submitted in writing to:

TransUnion Protected Consumer Freeze
P.O. Box 2000
Chester, PA 19022

When submitting your written request, please include the following information:

A written request to place a “protected consumer freeze” on the named individual’s file AND one of the following qualifying documents indicating that the requestor has Proof of Authority of the named individual:

  • Court Order

  • Power of Attorney

  • Written, Notarized and Signed Description of Authority AND

One of the following identification documents for both the named individual and the parent/representative:

  • Proof of social security number (i.e. SSN card)

  • Proof of name and address (Driver’s License, State of Gov’t Issued ID Card)

  • Copy of Birth Certificate (for minor’s) AND

  • The required fee via check or money order

For any additional questions or concerns, please contact TransUnion at 800-916-8800. Be sure to inform the representative that you are calling in regards to a “Protected Consumer Freeze.”

For more information on protecting your child’s identity, click here.