Food

Effective on May 1, 2014, testing for Wisconsin personal licenses will be conducted in the field in conjunction with the inspections.  The last testing that will be conducted at the six (6) designated testing sites throughout the state will be April 1, 2014.

The Bulk Milk Weighers & Samplers training manual and video are available to assist you with training.  If you cannot access them here, you can acquire a copy by contacting our department at (608) 224-4700. It is recommended that you review these prior to testing.  With a failing score you forfeit your application fee, and must resubmit the fee and application for another opportunity to test.

After reviewing study materials, contact the Dairy Sanitarian assigned to your plant.  They will arrange a time to administer the test at the dairy plant, a farm, or other mutually agreed upon location. After the written test is completed and passed, the Sanitarian will arrange to meet you at a farm for the field test component.  After successfully passing both the written and field tests, you will receive a temporary license valid for 40 days until a permanent license is processed.

For the cheese or butter graders, cheese or butter makers, or the cream and milk tester exams, simply submit the application and fee for a personal license, and you will be contacted to schedule the test, at your dairy plant by one of our Dairy Sanitarians. 

If you wish to take the pasteurizer operators exam, contact one of our department’s Food and Dairy Specialists. They will arrange a date and time to administer the test to you, at your dairy plant. 

License or Permit

Fees (Subject to Change)

Resources

Information

Animal Food Processor License

$200 annual/$25 one-time inspection

Statute 95.75

DATCP Rule 57

608-224-4726

Bulk Milk Tanker/Grade A Permit

None

Statute 97.21

DATCP Rule 82

608-224-4720 

Bulk Milk Tanker/ License to Operate

$45 annual license

Fee Schedule

Application

Statute 97.21

DATCP Rule 82

608-224-4720

Bulk Milk Weigher and Sampler License 

$60 for 2-year license

Application

Training Manual and Video 

Final Testing Inspection Notice

Statute 98.146

DATCP Rule 82

608-224-4885 

Butter Grader License

$75 for 2-year license

Application

Statute 97.175

DATCP Rule 80, 85

608-224-4885

Buttermaker License

$75 for 2-year license

Application

Buttermaker Qualification Addendum

Statute 97.17

DATCP Rule 69, 60, 80

608-224-4885

Cheese Grader License

$75 for 2-year license

Application

Statute 97.175

DATCP Rule 80, 81

608-224-4885 

Cheese Logo (Wisconsin)/ Permit to Use

None

 

 

Cheesemaker License

$75 for 2-year license

Application

Cheesemaker Qualification Addendum

Statute 97.17

DATCP Rule 69, 60, 80

608-224-4885 

Dairy Farm; Grade A Permit

None

Statute 95.22

DATCP Rule 60

715-839-3844 

Dairy Farm; Milk Producer License

$30 annual fee paid by dairy plant

DATCP Rule 60 

715-839-3844 

Dairy Farm Milk Producer License Status Change

 

Status Change Form (Word)

 

Dairy Plant License

See ATCP 80.04, Wis. Adm. Code

Fee Sheet

An operator who procures milk from producers must also hold a milk contractor license.

DATCP Rule 80

608-224-4720

Dairy Plant - Grade A BMT Cleaning Facility

See ATCP 80.06, Wis. Adm. Code

Statute 97.20

DATCP Rule 80

Active Grade A BMT Cleaning Facilities

 

Dairy Plant; Grade A Permit

See ATCP 80.06, Wis. Adm. Code

Statute 97.20

DATCP Rule 80

 

Dead Animals; Carcass Dealer Registration

None

 

 

Dead Animal Collector License

$100 annually for each location

Statute 95.82, 97.44

DATCP Rule 57

608-224-4726

Dead Animals; Transport Vehicle Permit

None 

Statute 95.72

DATCP Rule 57

 

Food Marketing Permit (temporary permit for non-conforming label)

None

 

 

Food or Farm Product Grader; License

$25 per 2-year license

 

 

Food Processing Plant License (Wholesale)

See ATCP 70.03, Wis. Adm. Code

License Fee Schedule

A processor who procures vegetables from producers must also hold a vegetable contractor license.

Statute 97.29

DATCP Rule 70

608-224-4736

Food Retail License

See ATCP 75 (subch. II), Wis. Adm. Code. Weights and measures fees may also apply (see ATCP 92.12, Wis. Adm. Code. License Fee Schedule

Statute 97.30

DATCP Rule 75

Wisconsin Food Code

608-224-4885

Food Retail Inspection; Agent County or Municipality

See ATCP 75 (subch. III), Wis. Adm. Code

DATCP Rule 7

Wisconsin Food Code

DFS Agent Contacts

Food Warehouse License

See ATCP 71.02, Wis. Adm. Code. License Fee Schedule

Statute 97.27

DATCP Rule 71

608-224-4736

Fur Farm

None

 

 

Grease Processor License

$200 annual fee.

Statute 95.72

DATCP Rule 57

608-224-4726 

Honey Producer – Certified

$50 Biennial Fee

Application

Application Letter

Statute 100.187(2)(a)

DATCP Rule 87.017(1)

608-224-4720

Industry Bulk Milk Truck / Tanker Inspector – Appointed

 

Application

Application Letter

Statute 97.32

608-224-4720

Laboratory Analyst Certification (Dairy, Food and Water Labs)

See ATCP 77.06, Wis. Adm. Code.

Statute 93.12

DATCP Rule 77.22

608-224-4736 

Laboratory Certification (Dairy, Food and Water Labs)

See ATCP 77.06, Wis. Adm. Code.

Statute 93.12

DATCP Rule 77

608-224-4736 

Laboratory; Milk Screening Test Approval

 

DATCP Rule 77

 

Maple Sap Processor Registration

None 

Registration Form

DATCP Rule 70.03

 

Meat Broker or Distributor Registration

None

 

 

Meat Establishment License

$200 annually ($80 if engaged only in custom slaughter or processing).

Statute 97.42

DATCP Rule 55

608-224-4726 

Meat; Mobile Slaughter or Processing; Registration Certificate

None

Statute 97.42

DATCP Rule 55

608-224-4726 

Milk and Cream Tester License

$50 for 2-year license; $25 reinspection fee if needed.

Application

Statute 98.145

DATCP Rule 80

608-224-4885

Milk Distributor License

$75 annual fee for each milk storage facility. License Fee Schedule

Statute 97.21

DATCP Rule 71

608-224-4736 

Pasteurizer Operator

 

DATCP Rule 80.41

608-224-4885